Yousif’s struggled with homelessness, Caroline’s cooked with cockroaches and Rebecca’s called some unusual places home. Three stories of renting in the capital and some thoughts on what needs to change with Generation Rent.

Main presenter: Lindesay Mace
Music by: Michael Edwards http://www.michaeledwards.tv/
Find out more about Yousif’s story here: http://www.thepavement.org.uk/stories.php?story=1981

Organisations mentioned in the episode:
Generation Rent: http://www.generationrent.org/
St Mungo’s: https://www.mungos.org/
Homeless Diamonds: http://homelessdiamonds.org.uk/
Shelter: http://www.shelter.org.uk/ 
Trust For London study on PRS: https://www.trustforlondon.org.uk/issues/housing/private-rented-sector/
London Assembly report: https://www.london.gov.uk/about-us/london-assembly/london-assembly-publications/rent-reform-making-londons-private-rented
Citizens Advice: https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/ 
The Law Centres: http://www.lawcentres.org.uk/

For help and information on the issues raised in this episode:
Streetlink: https://www.streetlink.org.uk/
Self-referral hostels: http://www.sih.org/our-services/short-term-accommodation/
http://www.northumberlandparkhouse.co.uk/
https://www.homeless.org.uk/homeless-england/service/missionaries-of-charity-gift-of-love
Homeless Link: https://www.homeless.org.uk/search-homelessness-services
The Connection: https://www.connection-at-stmartins.org.uk/
NHS Alcohol Support: https://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/alcohol/Pages/Alcoholsupport.aspx

Follow ice&fire on Twitter / FB / Instagram
@iceandfireuk
iceandfire.co.uk
podcast@iceandfire.co.uk 

Sponsored by Trust For London: www.trustforlondon.org.uk

Please rate us and leave a review!

Seen one of our shows recently?Let us know what you thought
+ +

Share This

Share this post with your friends!